Ramblings from a Jetlagged Expat

It’s been almost a week since I landed in the great state of Texas for my (almost) month long visit. A good chunk of that time has been spent groggily trying to readjust my sleep patterns.

DSC_0080

what I feel like

These are the things that have gone through my mind during my re-adjustment period, I am warning you they are pretty all over the place.

1. There are so many things, so many choices of so many things, and so many deals! After getting used to Australia’s shopping selection and prices- this is very exciting. In my grandparent’s pantry alone there are more varieties of chips than in all of Woolies. There’s a thing called brownie brittle that is like eating all the brownie crust. I need to bring that back with me.

2. Chick-fil-a, chipotle and queso still taste just as delicious as I remember them tasting. I was slightly concerned this would not be the case.

3. I forgot how many friends/people I know in the Greater Houston area. After having a limited social circle in Brisbane- it’s slightly overwhelming trying to see everyone we want to in such a short period of time. But it’s a good problem to have. 🙂

4. I still have no idea what time or day it is. Every time someone texts me I automatically try to mentally calculate what time it is where they are. Then I remember they are 2 miles away from me. Since I talk to Travis everyday I still think that I am on his schedule, so I am always thinking I am a day ahead of everyone.

5. It’s funny how everyone bundles up so much to go “out” in the cold weather even though they are just outside for the couple minutes getting in and out of the car. I am starting to get used to Australia (and the UK from visiting my parents) where when you walk to your destination or to public transport. After wandering the streets of Bruges in the freezing weather, walking a few feet to the car doesn’t seem to merit a fur coat.

6. Driving here is just like riding a bike. I wish I could say the same for driving a manual on the left side of the road (which is not going well). I have only had one (correction: two) minor panic attack thinking we were on the wrong side of the road. I was nervous getting back behind the wheel since my only driving in the past 6 months was in empty parking lots with our manual car.

That’s all for now! My tour of Texas continues as we head to Victoria today, Breckenridge (Texas) on Monday, back to Houston and then New Braunfels the following week… I am going to need a vacation after this vacation.

7 thoughts on “Ramblings from a Jetlagged Expat

  1. I can resonate with so many of these things! Reverse culture shock is a funny thing, isn’t it? One of my favorite things to do when I go back home is just wandering through the supermarket, admiring how big everything is and how wonderful the selection is. And oh my, the greatness that is Chipotle. Nothing abroad will ever compare!! Enjoy the rest of your time back home 🙂

    • court.alkek@gmail.com says:

      Yes! My sister (who lives in Scotland) and I walked down every single aisle of Target the first day back. Thanks 🙂

  2. I just went home to the States as well, and can relate to so many of these! I bought about 20 mascaras while I was there just to avoid paying a million dollars here in Australia. Also, CHIPOTLE. So good.

    • court.alkek@gmail.com says:

      I already stocked up on mascara too! I have now had Chipotle and Freebirds, I’m coming home a few pounds heavier for sure.

Leave a comment